The Personnel Committee unanimously and enthusiastically recommends the calling of a new minister to our church from within our church! It is our joy to introduce Rev. Mary Kaylor as our candidate for the position of Minister for Youth.

After a pandemic-related pause in a process that began in early March, the Personnel Committee began again a focused season of accepting resumes, interviewing candidates, and talking with references this fall. With additional voices at the table representing the youth and their parents, the Personnel Committee completed its work earlier this month with the unanimous sense of calling to Mary, and Mary to us.

In the course of our work, we felt it important that, even in a season of disruption and instability, the church commit a longer timeframe to this position that had long been conceived as an Interim role. While it will remain a temporary position, allowing the church and the Personnel Committee to continue its work of evaluating staffing structures, such a decision allows for deeper stability, broader time for discernment about staff needs, and two school years for this person to work with our youth. Following a vote by the Deacons and the church this month, the Minister for Youth position will be part-time, sustained through an ‘end date’ of June 30, 2022.

We now invite you to join us for online worship this Sunday, October 25, as Mary shares a bit of her story! Then together as a church family, we will vote to affirm Mary as our Minister for Youth in a called conference on Tuesday, October 27, at 7:00pm by Zoom. Members can join the meeting by phone by calling (646) 558-8656, or access the meeting by clicking the link available on our website or in the eBlast. Pending a vote to approve, we’ll celebrate with Mary in a drive-through greeting on Sunday, November 1, at 4:00pm in our back parking lot. The Personnel Committee has felt led by God all along the way and rejoices in the calling of Rev. Mary Kaylor to First on Fifth for such a time as this!

The Personnel Committee + October 22, 2020 Joanne Henley (chair), Ka’thy Gore Chappell, Mary Foskett, Cindi Goins, Lee Anne Stiffler, Gordon Thompson

Read full announcement

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This